Archive for March 20, 2011

SABLE savings account.   8 comments

I  started taking an inventory of my yarn so that I know what I have.   Let’s just say it’s eye-opening.  I barely made a dent and I have enough inventoried to get me through a very long time.  So yarn, listen up,  unless you are part of a club that I’m already committed to and paid for, you will not be coming to live with me for quite a while.  I’m sure that many other people will lovingly take you home to live with them, just not me at the moment.  There is so much pretty living in my house that I will be set for my knitting for a very long time.  Think of the money that I’ll be saving.

With that in mind, I could do self-imposed savings for this.  Every time that I pull out a skein of yarn to knit or fiber to spin, I would put the money that I spent on the yarn into a jar.  At the end of the year, I’m sure there would be a good chunk of change in the jar.  What do you think?   I know, it’s like paying for the yarn twice, but, I think it would make me see how much I actually do spend and how much I could be saving.   I need to think of it as my moving/vacation fund.  That said, the next new thing that I cast on, will start this program.  Let’s see how long I can stick with it.

OK, off to sleep.  Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting and Spinning from stash!!!  🙂

Posted March 20, 2011 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized