SABLE savings account.   8 comments

I  started taking an inventory of my yarn so that I know what I have.   Let’s just say it’s eye-opening.  I barely made a dent and I have enough inventoried to get me through a very long time.  So yarn, listen up,  unless you are part of a club that I’m already committed to and paid for, you will not be coming to live with me for quite a while.  I’m sure that many other people will lovingly take you home to live with them, just not me at the moment.  There is so much pretty living in my house that I will be set for my knitting for a very long time.  Think of the money that I’ll be saving.

With that in mind, I could do self-imposed savings for this.  Every time that I pull out a skein of yarn to knit or fiber to spin, I would put the money that I spent on the yarn into a jar.  At the end of the year, I’m sure there would be a good chunk of change in the jar.  What do you think?   I know, it’s like paying for the yarn twice, but, I think it would make me see how much I actually do spend and how much I could be saving.   I need to think of it as my moving/vacation fund.  That said, the next new thing that I cast on, will start this program.  Let’s see how long I can stick with it.

OK, off to sleep.  Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting and Spinning from stash!!!  🙂

Posted March 20, 2011 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

8 responses to “SABLE savings account.

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i like the yarn jar idea, i will not be able to make my own jar until after spring fling. It really sounds like a good idea, mental note when i walk into my LYS yarn jar needs to be fed..

  2. That is an excellent idea!

  3. I reorganized part of the sock yarn that I have kitted last week and came to the same conclusion. I’ve only bought “special” sock yarns recently–Wollmeise and Dream Club. I belong to one club. I still buy some sweater yarns but lately I’ve been using yarn shop earnings to buy equipment. At least when I buy sweater yarn, I have a pattern in hand but it’s still stash.

  4. I think it’s a great idea! I still save the money I used to smoke . . . I still call it my cigarette money and it’s substantial. I only use it for stuff I want – never bills. I travel with it, buy myself stuff with it. It’s great! And if the Illinois Senate has their way, soon I will saving even more (they are trying to add a buck a pack tax and I up the amount I save every time the price goes up).

  5. I think that is a great idea, and I will do it this way — if there is a price tag on the yarn I will put the amount of the tag into my savings account. If there is no price on the yarn, I will put in either $5 or $10, depending on the amount of yarn. Since a lot of what I have was a gift from a very generous friend, it’s a good incentive to start saving some real money, instead of dribs and drabs.

  6. I feel the same way – I’m too scared to even start inventorying the balance of my stash that’s NOT on Ravelry – but maybe I’ll just try your trick and see how far it gets me!

  7. I think that is a great idea I can’t wait to see how much you have saved up by the end of the year.

  8. Pingback: Knitting in a Jar « The Knitting Patch

Leave a Reply

