Archive for December 3, 2007

Smiley’s and Swatching   Leave a comment

On Saturday, I went to Smiley’s Annual Manhattan Sale. I’m always happy to go, but a big part of me wishes that it wasn’t so soon after Rhinebeck.

I went with the intention of getting one thing, but ended up getting another instead as my first choice wasn’t there. I purchased 20 skeins of Filatura Lanarota Chaco in a very pretty dusty rose color.

I swatched for a sweater, but the gauge and drape just didn’t feel right for what I have in mind.

What possessed me to get two bags? I wasn’t sure that the 2000 yards would do and the price was right. I’m sure that I’ll figure out something for it eventually.

This was all that I purchased, so I went to the stash. I swatched some Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Amethyst Heather (I have 30 balls of this in my stash).

That felt so much better and, I got gauge. 🙂

Now that it’s settled, I have some holiday gifts to finish up and once they are done I will be making a sweater. I have in mind which one, I just want to wait before I post it in case I change my mind.

OTN: Irish Hiking Scarf x2, Ball Band Dish Cloths x5, plus a few other unfinished objects that I really want to finish. (I swear I have knitters ADD!)

Pictures will be coming soon.

Happy Knitting!!!

Posted December 3, 2007 by theknittingpatch in Smiley's; Knit Picks