Question on Cables   Leave a comment

I’m knitting a reversible cable pattern and have come to a screeching halt because the cable just isn’t making sense to me. Let me know if it makes sense to you.

Cast on 96 stitches
Work K2, P2 rib for 6 rows

Good so far, right?

Cable row 1, slip 12 stitches to a cable needle and hold in front, (p2, k2) 3 times – um what? the next stitch after the slipped stitches is knit, am I reversing the ribbing?

I read the pattern three times. Nothing stated that I would be reversing the ribbing, only the cable.

PM’d the designer on Ravelry, designer states it is correct.

I’ve gone so far as to chart it out on Excel, stitch by stitch and still made no sense.

messy

Am I missing something? Should I just trust in the pattern? I really like the design and am knitting as a gift and want it to be perfect.

EDITING TO ADD:  I heard back from the designer and there was indeed errata – should have been P2, K2 for 6 rows and then the cables as written.  Thanks to all those that weighed in to me privately 🙂

Posted January 13, 2013 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

