Knitting at the Courthouse   3 comments

 

I had jury duty today.  What a way to start the new year.  I wasn’t sure what to expect as this was my first jury duty as a knitter.  Quite a few people told me that I wouldn’t be able to get past security with my needles.  After visiting the courthouse last week, I thought I might be able to.  I got right through security with them.  No problem.

Today, I was nervous.  I was going to a different courthouse and the rules would be different.  I packed both my sock and my cowl for my daughter.  I figured the worst that would happen would be that they hold on to them for the day.  I arrived at 8:15 for an 8:30 start.  My bag went through the x-ray machine and I through the metal detector.  Surprisingly, my knitting wasn’t the problem and I was sort of baffled.  Why?  My Kindle was the problem.  Surely it couldn’t be the first time they saw one, could it?  After I told the security guard what it was, I sailed right through.  Sharp pointy needles, no problem.  Kindle, problem.  What’s wrong with this picture?

We went through the orientation and then were left to be waiting to be called.  I think there were about 500 of us there today and we were told that we would ALL be called in as potential jurors.  Slowly, groups of people were being called in for questioning.  I sat and knit on a sock.  More people called in, sock continued to be knit.  About 12:30, we were sent to lunch and told to return at 2:00.

I returned early,  as it was a little chilly out today (the courtroom wasn’t much warmer), found a seat and started knitting again.  I also turned on my laptop and checked out my mail and a few other things.  The internet was slow as molasses, but it worked for what I needed.  2:30, more people called and again at 20 minute intervals.  Each time, my name was not called and I continued to knit on the sock and the cowl.  Finally, at 4:15, an officer came in and explained that dismissals were going to happen and that about 30 people would be asked to stay the last half hour in case they needed it.  I realized that they were doing this alphabetically and thought that I was going to be one of the 30, but low and behold, I was called and dismissed.

Part of me is a little curious to sit through a trial and the process.  I know it’s nothing like it would be on TV.   Then again, I’m not sure that I would want to play G-D with someone’s life.  What if I was wrong?  Let’s just hope that people have a good attorney and that we trust in the system.

So home I came and caught up  on a little housework and I plan on sitting and knitting some more before the evening is over.

I hope that you all had a wonderful day 🙂

Posted January 3, 2011 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Knitting at the Courthouse

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve sat on a jury for a murder trial and it’s nothing like on television. It’s rather boring at most points. Lots of minutiae and long rambling bits.

    I’ve heard both ways where people were and were not allowed to take in the knitting needles. I’m glad you were able to have a productive day. The striped sock is glouriously colorful.

  2. I got to serve as head juror on a drive by shooting back in St. Louis – wow – herding cats diplomatically was the only way to describe the process. Back then I didn’t knit but I got a lot of reading done during selection.

    By the way, I love the new background!

  3. I’ve always wanted to sit on a jury, but I’ve never even made it to the interview. And now that I work for the DA’s office, I probably never will!

Leave a Reply

