knitting and other things   2 comments

I’m still awaiting the bead spinner to arrive so that I can continue on the Persian Princess. It looks like it was delivered to the office today (FINALLY!!!!) and I will be able to get started with it again next week.

In the meantime, I started a blanket.  I’m just about done with chart C of Girasole.  I’m using Cascade Eco Duo in Hazelnut and loving it.  I can tell it’s going to be a super warm blanket and I’m happy about that as this winter has been brutal and it’s only the start.

As of January, I will only be knitting socks on the subway for the entire year.  It’s all a part of Year of Stash Socks – 2011.  Every month you will be given the option of one or two patterns or a plain vanilla sock.  January I will be knitting the plain vanilla sock.  The other two options are St. Brigid Carnamoyle Stockings and Changeling.  Both are beautiful socks, but I want to get them done and I can see that those will take me a while.

In other news, I will be continuing my weight loss journey.  I still have about 50 pounds to lose.  I have not lost any weight since July, but, I have not gained any either.  It’s frustrating, but I’m OK with it.  Sort of.  Partly, I’m still healing from knee surgery in June.  I’m moving around 1000% better than I did, but I know these things take time.  Secondly, I managed to do the same damage to the other knee, so I’m walking around with another tear.  I need to have it fixed, but I have opted to wait until the spring so that I’m not healing in the snow and ice.  It’s New York City and I walk everywhere.  I just hope I can hold out.

This has not stopped me from going to the gym.  I’m cleared to do everything except lift weights with my legs and the treadmill.  The bike and the elliptical are low impact on my knees.  Working with my trainer is good too.  I will continue to do it all until I can’t.  I know my limits.  One day at a time.

OK, it’s 1:30 AM and time for me to go to sleep.  Sweet dreams everyone 🙂

 

Posted December 19, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

2 responses to “knitting and other things

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Lady… I miss being in the city and having winter it is warm down her in Dallas… Miss ya mucho… can’t wait to see you!

  2. Hey You! Hope you have dug yourself out – just saying hello and am glad you’re joining us for YOSS 🙂 Happy New Year!!

Leave a Reply

