Updates   2 comments

It was back to work this week and all I have to say is that I’m exhausted.  I’m so not use to it after a month off.  I’m also finding that some things never change.  Overall, it’s good to be back.

I also hit the gym for the first time this week and I’m going to take it slowly and build my stamina back up.  Hopefully by September, I will be back with my trainer and back on track.  Right now, about 20 minutes on the bike is all I can handle, however, I know that soon enough, I will be back up to my hour.

Stairs, though I can do them, continue to be a challenge for me.  This is especially true after sitting on the train for a half hour or more in the morning to get to work.  Not much I can do about that, it will just take time.  In the meantime, ice and Advil are my friend.

I continue to work on Shipwreck and Norwegian Rose.  I also want to finish the Barbara scarf.  I had planned to do that during my time off, however, I became obsessed with Haruni and wanting to get it completed for my daughter.  I think it’s my best work yet.  So I wouldn’t get lost in the pattern and drive myself crazy, I employed the use of flash cards.  I put each stitch in the repeat on its own card and followed them row by row.  Honestly, it was saving grace,; I think I’d still be knitting it if I didn’t do that or I would have tossed it aside for sanity.  I may have to employ this option with some other projects so that I can get them done.  Do you all have any tricks that you use to get you through long rows with repeating patterns?

I’m able to spin again.  I hope to have some finished spinning soon to share.

I’ve decided that I want to take a crochet class and learn how to crochet.  I really faked my way through it for the Haruni bind off and I think it looks good, but would like to know for the future how to do it correctly and possibly crochet a project or two.

So that’s what’s happening in my patch of the world.  I’m off to gather up laundry for the elves and get ready for work.  I hope you all have a fantastic day and happy knitting and spinning!!!!

Posted July 29, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Updates

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The wonders of ice. Never thought I would beg for some at PT . . . glad to hear you’re getting better every day!! 🙂

  2. I hope you continue to feel better.

    I use the flash cards religiously too. They absolutely save me. For my socks with lace – I do one row per card. I arrange groups of stitches on separate lines on the card to help me stay straight. I am just not too good at staying with the lace charts.

    Good luck with crocheting. You will find there’s nothing to it! Well maybe something, but to me it should be easier to learn than knitting. Just one loop to manage after all! 🙂

Leave a Reply

