Over the Moon!!!   8 comments

I’m blogging early today because I’m just over the moon!!!!!

I had a visit with my primary care doctor today and got some great news.  I’m able to discontinue the use of my blood pressure medicine.   This is a huge win for me as I don’t like to put this stuff in my body.  I knew how important it was and I have worked hard to get off of it.  I plan to stay off.

OK, back to your regularly scheduled program 🙂

Posted June 8, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

8 responses to “Over the Moon!!!

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is fabulous! You have worked soo hard and it’s paying off! Keep it up. You are inspiring.

  2. Would you be willing to talk a bit about the steps you took to make this happen? I got my dr to halve mine, but I know he is not willing to go lower until I can make a real case for it (took me almost 3 months to get him to go halfies).

    • absolutely – honestly it was sheer determination

      I watched what I ate, kept a food journal, because if I did not, I didn’t lose as well as I would have liked. I gave up any form of soda and sugary drinks and I only drink water. Flavored water such as zero calorie Sobe and Vitamin water are good too.

      I’m also at the gym 4 to 5 times per week and two of those times are with a personal trainer. He has been wonderful with me and I plan on renewing my sessions with him once these ones have been used. Expensive, but very worth it.

      If I go out to eat with friends, I will special order. I’ll ask them to hold the sauces and just give me grilled chicken or fish. Vegetables, steamed, not sauteed in butter or oils. No added salt. I’ve found a variety of different no salt seasonings that I love to use.

      Here’s an example. I love turkey on my salad for protein. I was purchasing deli turkey to put on, but found that it is loaded with salt. I now purchase a turkey breast and season it myself with Mrs. Dash or some other seasonings and the sodium level goes down to 100 MG per serving rather than 700 to 950 or more per serving for deli meat.

      I’ll PM you my home number if you want to talk about it further 🙂

  3. That’s wonderful! It’s good to see your hard work paying off.

  4. Oh, Well Done my friend 🙂 That is just the best news!!!

  5. Great news! Congratulations for sticking with it! You are very inspiring 🙂

  6. Way to go! Great news.

  7. Congrats I hate being on high BP meds I can’t wait for the day when I can finally stop mines. Great Job.

Leave a Reply

