Cat Bordhi   2 comments

Last week, I had the pleasure of taking a class with Cat Bordhi.

The class was based on the Discovery Sock which can be found in Cat’s book, Personal Footprints for Insouciant Sock Knitters.  I was excited to learn this new technique of knitting socks.

The sock started with 6 stitches cast on to two circulars and would increase based on what Cat called the “Pizza Toe”.  After a certain number of rounds, you would try the sock on, and decide if the toe was complete, or if you had to increase more rounds.  In my case I had to increase to 60 stitches around to fit my foot properly.

Part of the technique is to make a cutout drawing of your foot.  When you reach certain points, you would mark it on the cutout, creating your own personal footprint.  For example, mark the stitch count of my toe.

Those marks you are seeing in the middle, are the number of midsole increases that I needed to do so that the sock would fit around my entire foot.  As you can see, I did not make it far.

I really wish I had.  I wish that the class was a two-day class, as one really wasn’t enough, at least for me.  The reason I say that is because how this sock is formed and shaped.

When you get to a certain point, you would thread lifelines through the instep stitches, knit two rows, and insert another lifeline. Knit a heel.  This really closes the sock up. (though you leave it open at this point) But, where’s the leg?  You open it from where you put the lifelines in.  It’s not steaking, but a snip of a scissor is involved.  That part makes me feel uneasy and for that reason alone, I would have loved a second day or at least a half a day to get to that point and for better, for worse, have my hand held.

Overall, it was an amazing class and I highly recommend that if the opportunity arises, take a class from  Cat.  She was fabulous and believe me when I say, it was worth every penny spent!!!!

Posted May 27, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Cat Bordhi

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have heard great things about this method of hers everyone who has talked about it says its great I may need to check out her book.

  2. I have that book and can’t wait to give the whole footprint thing a go. It looks like a fun and interesting new way of constructing socks!

Leave a Reply

