4 comments

It has been quite a while since I’ve blogged. I’ve really been trying to be better about it, but it’s not always easy. Life just gets in the way.

I’m still knitting away on Ammonit and I expect that it will be complete in a few more weeks. Starting section P of R and will soon be up to 300 stitches. I love the garment that his is turning out to be and will post a picture of the final product when it is done. I hope to wear it at my nieces wedding in the fall.

Sometime in mid February, I started a journey. It is a journey to a new me. Well, it will be the same me, except that I will be 100 to 125 pounds lighter. I finally hit a point where I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired. I’m really watching what I eat to the point that I bring my lunch and snacks with me to the office to eat everyday. I am also going to the gym four to five times per week and meeting with a personal trainer for two of those days. I never thought I’d be a gym rat, but I’m really liking it and I’m seeing the difference already. I’ve lost about 14 pounds so far and am excited to get to goal weight. I’m in no hurry to do it. I hope this time next year that I will be there. This leads me to my rant.

I’m not to thrilled about programs like Jenny Craig or Weight Watchers. They may work for some, but not for me. I was never into anything like that and I’ve tried and they just don’t work for me. However, I do need to learn to eat properly so that I’m getting good nutrition throughout. So I called my doctor and had him recommend a nutritionist. I called and was informed that they’d be happy to help me, however, I need to make sure that my insurance will cover it. I called the insurance company and here’s what they have to say: Unless I have a diagnosis of diabetes, they will not cover it.

Here’s what I have to say: THAT IS THE STUPIDEST THING THAT I EVER HEARD!!!!! Here I am trying to prevent diseases like this from occurring and they don’t want to help. It’s bad enough that I already have high blood pressure. I don’t get it, I just don’t get it. Sad to say, the American people are some of the most obese people in the world. I would think that our insurance companies would be happy to help those of us who want it. You would think that preventive medicine would be accepted, but instead it is frowned upon. It makes me want to change jobs and lobby for better health care in this country. Am I alone in this thinking? I’d be curious to hear what others have to say.

OK, rant over for now, but I have a feeling that I may have more to say on this subject. Hang in there, the knitting and spinning will be back soon 🙂

Posted March 14, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

4 responses to “

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. The insurance companies suck. My parents had tofight for 18 months to get Blue Cross to pay for my mom's chemo. It does seems sometimes that preventing disease is not something they want to do which is so dumb.

  2. Karen – you're very smart – you don't need to go to a nutritionist, unless you feel that you need someone to write down a program for you to follow. I totally agree about our insurance here in the US, but we have the internet at our disposal – and I'm sure that you could come up with a program that would encourage you to eat properly. Having had a lifelong battle with weight myself, I've found that WW has the most sensible approach, and you can do it all on line – there's also something else called Spark People or something like that, which you can join for free and they will give you daily menus tailored specifically to your tastes, goal weights, etc.I think I joined once, and still get emails from them … instead of paying for a nutritionist, you can become your OWN nutritionist with just a little research on the web! good luck and congrats on your really wonderful beginning – you can do it!

  3. Howdy – I'm a big fan of Weight Watchers. You might give it another try – the program is different now than it was a couple of years ago. Maybe if you don't like the meeting aspect, you could do on the Online version for 12 weeks, so you can get the program and then continue on your own.No, my insurance company won't pay for a nutritionist either. So it goes. Like the poster above me said, you're smart, you can figure it out :-)You might want to read Michael Pollan's book, "In Defense of Food." I think it's excellent and speaks so much to real as opposed to processed food. I think you're doing great – congratulations and think of me in the gym at the Fling this year 🙂

  4. That is AWESOME! 🙂 Congrats! :)I just started (like a week ago) doing the plan over at SparkPeople. I've been reading their book, The Spark, and it really…well, sparked for me. lol 🙂 It's kind of a neat thing if you've never tried it before – you can enter all your food and exercise and goals, and I just find it a great thing to keep track of stuff. It's really helped. I've done it before, but this time it feels different. They give you meal plans, and suggest a calorie range based on the amount of weight you want to lose in a time frame. I haven't been doing the actual meal plans because I'm having to cook for a picky eater and since it's just the two of us, I'm not making two different meals every night. So I'm trying to do healthier options that will fit within the parameters of what the boy will also eat. Like I said, it's only been a week, but I'm feeling great. 🙂 If you decide to join, look me up! I'm "HELLOLOVELY" :)Good luck! I can't wait to hear of your progress. 🙂

Leave a Reply

