Hitch   3 comments

So at the beginning of my Rhinebeck story, I gave you a little teaser and showed you this:

Here is the other side which shows the second treadle that is completely removable for easy packing. Also on board, is the oil bottle and the orifice hook (you can see it sticking out in the top right of the picture).

Today was the day that I was determined to spin on it. My previous attempts have been futile. The fiber would break, I couldn’t treadle, couldn’t find the right tension. It was frustrating to say the least.
Then yesterday, I got an email from Tammy in regards to her Roadbug and she was having similar issues. I was really hoping that I wouldn’t regret making this purchase. The good news is that she read on the Hitchhiker forum on Ravelry that the scotch tension had to be looser than what we were use to on our regular wheels. I gave it a shot and miracle of miracles, we have yarn:
The fiber is Pigeon Roof Studios in the Circus colorway purchased at Sonny and Shear.
Next, I am finding that I need a better chair or stool to be sitting on while I spin either on Hitch or on the Ladybug wheel. Any ideas for me?
In other knitting news, I finished my Mom’s shawl and I’ve started the straight section on the purple Clapotis. I’m deciding what WIP I want to tackle next. I have a Stahman Shawl, Wendy’s Exonumist Shawl and a scarf by Anne Hanson to choose from. All require my utmost attention when knitting them at this stage of the game. Maybe I should just have a vote to choose.

Well, it’s time for me to settle in for the night and go back to the knitting and spinning. Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting and Spinning!!!
Posted October 25, 2009 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

3 responses to “Hitch

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have a lovely spinning stool that i bought from Steve Sandle at the Wool Works. It comes in different woods including maple and cherry, and I think also oak? Here's a link to someone's photo of it on flickr:http://www.flickr.com/photos/86297954@N00/3672417648/I can give you his number if you like.

  2. OKKKKKK… so we all know that I am not into the spinning thingie… but this is so cute that I want one just as a work of art for my apt.. yeah yeah not really the function, but I have to admit it is soooo adorable…:o)

  3. Oddly enough my favorite spinning chair is my Poang from IKEA. I've got long legs though so your mileage may vary.

Leave a Reply

