Rhinebek Part 4   2 comments

The weekend started out wonderfully. Maddy, Amy and I took the train up to Poughkeepsie where we met up with Kathy and Jan from Kansas City.

We then mosied on over to the Everyready Diner in Hyde Park we we caught up with Tammy and had a wonderful lunch. I had macaroni and cheese and a chocolate coke. After lunch, we were headed to the hotel, but made a pit stop at WalMart to pick up a few things for the room (aka, snacks and drinks).

Those of you who have been to The Loopy Ewe Spring Fling, know that it has become tradition to start the festivities off with cupcakes in the lobby. This in mind, Rhinebeck was no different. We started the evening with these awesome cupcakes from Crumbs

On Saturday morning, we headed out of the hotel and of to the fairgrounds about 7:45 AM. After a quick stop at McDonald’s for breakfast, we were on our way.

The first stop for most of us was The Fold where we picked up some Blue Moon Fiber Arts Socks that Rock. This was also the stop where I picked up a braid of the yummy Fiber Optic. I admit, I could have easily blown my whole budget here, but I wouldn’t do that until the next shop stop.

The next major stop was The Merlin Tree and that is where I purchased my Hitchhiker wheel that I showed in Sunday’s post. Consider the budget blown!!!! šŸ™‚

After the wheel was purchased, the rest of the day became a blur. All I know is that I came home with a ton of fiber (most of which you saw yesterday) and a few skeins of yarn that I had designated for projects. Here are some photo’s from the weekend:

Next year, I need to remember to take more photo’s of us having a good time.

We left the fairgrounds on Saturday about 3:30 or so and headed back to the hotel for some rest. Dinner that night was at The Texas Roadhouse. Good food and great friends, who can ask for a better combination?

Sunday, we were back at Rhinebeck for about a 1/2 day as it was cold and rainy. Soon it was time to part ways and head back to non-fair life. It really was a great weekend and I really had a wonderful time. There is one more bag sitting under the desk at work and that should come home with me on Thursday.

If the stars align and all goes well, I’m looking forward to attending OFFF next year. In the meantime, is it bad of me to be thinking of going to Stitches East on Saturday?

Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting and Spinning!!!

Posted October 21, 2009 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

2 responses to “Rhinebek Part 4

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I absolutely love the Eveready Diner. We ate there last year and this year we ate there after the Raverly party! I had a philly cheese steak wrap & an onion soup. Sooo good. I was so cold so it helped warm up!

  2. Thanks for sharing all your loot and your Rhinebeck adventures. I'll be leaving for SAFF tomorrow. This is my virgin trip. I'm very excited. Hope to see some Fling buddies and Plurk fiber friends.

Leave a Reply

