The Second Sock of Doom   2 comments

I’ve been meaning to write this post for a bit. It’s too easy to get sidetracked. I have finished and completed The Sunflower Socks , aka Van Gogh Socks, aka The Second Sock of Doom Socks.

I very rarely use the yarn suggested, but I really felt that this one needed to be done in the suggested yarn and color. So, when I was at The Loopy Ewe Spring Fling in April, I picked up the yarn. I pretty much skated through the first sock. And as you can see, it turned out beautifully.

I took out the second skein of yarn and wound it. I wasn’t happy with how it wound. It was a little too tight for me, so I decided to rewind the cake.

Sadly, here’s where the nightmare began. It became a knotted, tangled mess. I put it into a Ziploc bag and put into my purse and went to work. For three hours in between calls at my desk, I worked on detangling and unknotting the skein. I even emailed TLE to see if they had anymore in stock as I was ready to chuck it and buy another, but, sadly, they had sold out. I checked Ravelry to see if anyone had the skein in the dye lot needed, no luck. I eventually got it all done and started knitting away on the Second Sock.

Here’s where it got the name, “The Second Sock Of Doom” I was about 33 rows from being done and look what happened:

It was another tangled mess. Every other row, I had to untangle enough yarn to knit a few more rows. It really should have been completed a week or so before I finished it. I haven’t been able to take a good pix of the two as the lighting has been poor and the weather has been too bad to take them outside to photo. Hopefully soon and I’ll put it on my Ravelry page.

Even with the Second Sock of Doom, it has been a fantastic knit and I would knit them again if given the opportunity (and I just may have to once Mom sees them!).

OK, the new pair of socks (that is a Rav link) is in progress and I’m knitting them on DPN’s. It took a little getting use to, but I’m enjoying them. This pair is for Mom and I know she will enjoy them.

I have other works in progress and as they complete, I will post. In the mean time, I’m going back to the needles. Have a great night everyone and happy knitting!!!!

Posted July 30, 2009 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Second Sock of Doom

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I learned the hard way about tangled messes. Now, I take the yarn from the outside of my cake and not the inside and I don't pull out tangled messes any more!

  2. aaack. what a pain! but such pretty yarn and socks!

Leave a Reply

