At Long Last……   1 comment

It’s a blog post 🙂 A rather long one at that, but explanation of where I’ve been.

I’ve been away a few weeks. And while I’ve missed updating, it was a necessary break.

Around the end of last year, the beginning of this year, I started to feel not myself. At first, I just thought I was overworked and that sleep would take care of it. I was wrong. I started feeling worse. I was getting horrible chest pains to the point I thought I was having a heart attack. I couldn’t sleep at night and I was exhausted all the time. I made an appointment with my doctor and I told him all that was happening.

First, medication change. The supplement that I had been relying on to prevent my migraines had stopped working the way I would like it to. It was time for prescription prevention. So far, it seems to be working.

Once I told him about the chest pains, a stress test was scheduled. The pains would come and go and we both were concerned enough that we wanted to rule out that there was a problem with my heart. A few days before the test, it was horrible.

I was at knit night and I lost all color in my face. The pain in my chest was really unbearable, but I stayed calm. Oddly enough, I got on the train to go home rather than to a hospital. The closer I got to home, the worse the pain got, burning in fact. I was about ready to pull myself off the train and to the closest policeman to get me to a hospital. However, I was at my stop. Two things crossed my mind, (1) I’m able to concentrate on my knitting, it couldn’t be a heart attack and (2) I have to go to the bathroom. Number 2 had me laughing a little bit. I walked home the two blocks from the train station, dancing at this point wanting the bathroom, and told myself if it still was unbearable, I would call an ambulance. I got in the house, went to the bathroom and while in there let out a burp that made the earth move. Seriously, it was loud, incredibly loud. The pain was gone and I immediately felt better.

I felt a sense of relief that night. I was positive that it wasn’t my heart and the stress test proved that to be true. Once I told the doctor what happened on knit night, he and I both agreed that it is more than likely acid reflux and we started me on Nexium. I’m giving it a chance to get into my system and work, but sadly it doesn’t seem to be working, but, the good news is, the chest pains (heartburn) haven’t been as bad. I’m suppose to go back to the doctor in a few weeks and we’ll see then what needs to be done. For now, I’m just trying to be careful what I eat and when.

I also went to the doctor for other reasons. I had a growth on my back that needed to be removed. There was nothing wrong with the growth, it was just in an awkward place and my bra strap kept rubbing against it and irritating it. The dermatologist was more than happy to remove it, but while there, he took out his pen and started drawing on my back. When I asked him what he was doing, he said that he was circling the moles that needed to be removed. I asked if this was really needed and what he did was whip out his digital camera and took pictures of them and showed me. Discoloration, rough edges and no pigment were all he needed to see to know that he needed to remove and biopsy. While I am truly opposed to needles and pain, I let him do it.

Sadly, one of them came back with not so good results and I have to go back to let him dig the rest of it out. I’m just getting to a point now where I can sleep on my back again and it will probably be another month before I’m comfortable, but I know it needs to be done. He told me that this time, I’ll need stitches in it. UGGHH!!!!! I suppose this will be better than the alternative, chemo for skin cancer.

So while I’m starting to feel much better, I’ve still got a ways to go. I truly look forward to the day where I’m back to myself and not run down and feeling sick all the time. I miss being able to do things because of not feeling well and I haven’t wanted to post because I don’t want to seem like I’m complaining all the time. I have been knitting and spinning and they both have been a great source of comfort for me. I may actually finish a pair of socks this weekend. I guess for now, I just need to take it one day at a time and soon all will be good again.

That said, I’m exhausted from a lazy day (though I did play on the Wii) and will go get some sleep. Thanks for listening to me ramble on 🙂 Have a great night and Happy Knitting and Spinning!!!!

Posted February 15, 2009 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

One response to “At Long Last……

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad to hear you’re okay. My husband is on Nexium daily now for over a year, and doesn’t get heart burn anymore. It’s a blessing that drug!

Leave a Reply

