Leave a comment

First, let me start off by saying that my day started with me waking up very congested. That in itself is enough to call it a day, but I muddle through.

I was determined to kick it so sadly, I cancelled some plans to spend the morning with a friend. I was going to sit on my chair and knit and kick back and watch TV. The TV part happened without a hitch. The knitting, not so much.

I wanted to finish the neck warmer so that I could get it off to it’s recipient. About 2 hours later, I noticed that about 6 rows back, I made a huge mistake. I reversed the order of the rows and was purling on the right side and knitting on the wrong side. I’ll blame the decongestant, but I blame the yarn for what happened next. I pulled the needle and started to slowly frog back to just before where the trouble started. The yarn broke. It just flat out broke. I think it was my punishment from the yarn because the yarn must not have felt the love that I don’t have for it. Something about it just doesn’t sit with me right. Maybe it’s the fact that it’s thick in thin and not spun out in some places. I just didn’t like it, but I knew the colors were good for the recipient, so I stuck with it. Anyway, in my disgust with it, I sent the whole thing to the frog pond. I’ll find another yarn and knit it up again. It’s OK, because it was for the recipients birthday and that’s not until next month/year.

So last Monday, I was home from work. Scanning through the TV stations, I came across the Rachael Ray show. Not my favorite, but she was cooking and I like that part. The recipe she was making was not vegetarian, but I thought it could be adapted because the concept just looked so good.

So I took this:

And I turned it into this:

Rachel’s version was with a thick and hearty Bolognese sauce. My version had garlic, mushrooms, zucchini, onion, eggplant, Morning Star Farms Crumbles, and tomato sauce topped with fresh grated Parmesan. It was amazing!!!!!

The only thing I would do different next time, is when cooking the spaghetti squash, I would put them in a shallow pan rather than a cooking sheet as the EVO spilled over and smoked up my whole house, other than that, I’d keep everything the same. I told my grandmother about it and have been asked to make it for her. Maybe the next time I go home, I’ll make it for the family.

I’m off to knit something for me now after the fiasco of this afternoon. Need to get the knitting mojo back in gear. Have a great night everyone and happy knitting and spinning!!!

Posted December 20, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

