I Made Yarn!!!!!   Leave a comment

I’ve been wanting to learn how to spin for a while. I had tried spindle spinning about a year or so ago to bad results and had pretty much given up on it.

Then about 6 months ago, I got the bug again. I had decided that I was going to bypass the spindle and go straight to the wheel. I was going to get the said wheel at Rhinebeck a few weeks ago. For one reason or another, I didn’t get it. Partly the economy, partly my conscience questioning my decision. I think it was the one regret that I had about Rhinebeck this year.

Fast forward to last week. I decided to give spindle spinning another shot after watching some friends spin on a spindle at our SnB night. I was mesmerized. A few days later, I purchased a spindle and some fiber.

I eagerly read the book and couldn’t wait to give it a try. I really just needed to wait and have someone show me how as somethings just weren’t clicking.

Tonight, at SnB, thanks to Jessica and support from Julie and Rosemary, I made yarn!!!! Jessica was an excellent teacher and very patient. The light bulb went on and all made perfect sense and I was jubilant. Almost as jubilant as I was on Tuesday night!

I can now be in the cave with my other Plurk SnBrs!!!! 🙂

I’m off to spin, knit and sleep. Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting and Spinning.

Posted November 7, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

