Leave a comment

It was a good and bad day here in The Knitting Patch household.

First the bad.

As some of you know, 7 years ago, I broke my left foot. It was the 5th metatarsal and when I tell you I saw the little cartoon stars and birds, that’s what I really saw. It was a weird feeling. Actually sick to my stomach and then the cartoons. Anyway, I never felt like it healed correctly and haven’t been able to wear shoes since. I am more comfortable in sneakers or bare foot.

Anyway, for the past, I’d say year or so, my right knee has been “locking” up and been intermittently impossible to bend, walk, move. I figured it had to do with my weight and just let it go. Finally the pain became so unbearable, that I made an appointment for the doctor and went to see him today.

I told him what was going on and had also mentioned the break in my left foot and he had an “aha” moment. He figured the pain from the foot was causing me to baby it and put more weight on the right side, hence the pain in the knee. From there, to confirm, he sent me for x-rays of both my foot and my knee. It’s really a wonderful way to spend a few hours. NOT!!!

Back in his office, shortly there after, he called me in to discuss. It was as he thought, however, not as simple as he thought. My fracture had completely healed in the foot. What was happening though was the early stages of arthritis. The knee itself, while not deteriorating, was having added pressure t me favoring my right side over the left.

While the arthritis itself really can’t be stopped, it can hopefully be relieved with some physical therapy. PT will start next Thursday. If it helps, I’ll be very happy. I want to do whatever I can to alleviate it and from getting worse. My Mom and a few friends have RA so I know how difficult it can be to live with.

Enough bad news, now some good news. Look what came to live with me today:

Wollmeise in Miss May

Wollmeise in Veilchin
Wollmeise in Franz with Chicken Pox

Misti Alpaca Lace in Senta

It certainly brought smiles to the end of an icky day.

Have a great night everyone and happy Knitting!!!

Posted August 30, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

