Leave a comment

This morning started out as any other work day might. I got up. Showered and got dressed. Took the train to the office and started working. About 1/2 hour after I arrived at the office is when the trouble began.

I felt deprived of oxygen. I stayed relaxed and chose to ignore it. A little while later the wheezing started. I swore to myself because I knew what was happening. It had been a good two years since it last happened, but I knew. I was having an asthma attack.

My doctors office is 10 minutes from my office. I told my boss what was happening and I hopped in a taxi and went to the doctors. Honestly, she wanted to call an ambulance to get me to the hospital and I appreciate that, but this was so much faster and she was OK with that.

Once at the doctors office, they took me right away. The nurse that was checking me in, asked the reason for my visit. I laughed as I was getting ready to pass out. I told her anyway. She then wanted me to get on the scale and to take my vitals. I firmly told her no and to please get the doctor, NOW! Seriously!!!

My doctor is great. He got me right on an albuterol treatment to get the symptoms and the attack under control. From what he could hear in my lungs and chest as well as how I was breathing, it was a confirmed asthma attack. He sent me over to the hospital for an x-ray and I have to go see him again on Thursday.

It was about 1 1/2 hours at the hospital waiting to get the x-ray done. I wanted to knit, however, I found it impossible as I was shaking from the albuterol. I was told this was normal. I couldn’t remember it being like that. Hopefully I won’t have to again.

Two years I went without one. I thought I was out of the woods with having them. I guess not. Now I get to start with all the meds again to prevent it from happening again. YUCK!

Stupidly, I went back to the office rather than go home. It was both good and bad as the air quality, I know is much better than at home. I cancelled my plans for tonight though and came home. As much as the albuterol helped me today, it totally wiped me out.

To reward myself for getting through it, I did a little retail therapy at The Loopy Ewe. I’m feeling much better now and am just going to take it easy the rest of the night until bedtime. And yes, that does involve knitting. It’s the best way to relax. Don’t you agree?

Have a great night everyone and happy knitting!

Posted May 19, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

