Leave a comment

I thought that weekends were suppose to be relaxing? Here’s how my day went.

The sweet man came over about11:00 AM this morning with breakfast in one hand and his computer in another. By 11:15, I had removed his existing hard drive (20 GB) and put in a new hard drive (160 GB). Then by 11:30, after I removed and fixed the DVD Rom, I had Windows XP installing on his PC.

At this point, I had about 1/2 hour to kill while the disk was formatting, so I went into my kitchen and started cleaning, all the time checking on the progress of the disk. I’d say about 12:30 or so, Windows had installed.

Once this was done, I had to get it on the Internet so that I could update Windows and bring it up to speed. Since it was not recognizing the network card, I had to find the software to install that. Found it and installed and was then on the Internet.

Windows update here we come! To get it up to date took about 2 hours of installs and restarts. I knit while waiting and doing this. This geek girl was multitasking today. The sweet man finished the kitchen for me.

Windows done, on to Office. Installed and updated. He didn’t bring his anti virus disk, so he was going to do that at home tonight. He left here about 6:00 PM

At 10:00 PM, I get a call from the sweet man and it’s not good. He was having problems connecting to the Internet once home so he called Verizon (his provider) and they started walking him through some things and they uninstalled the network card and he can no longer see it, nor can he install it. I want to scream, but I will stay calm.

What’s even more frustrating, is that my sweet man is a help desk support person, but he doesn’t know hardware, only software. Must start teaching him all the geeky computer hardware things. Then must teach him to knit to stay sane 🙂

I’m not going to worry about it until Sunday and I’m going back to my knitting.

Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting!
Posted April 20, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Geek Talk

Leave a Reply

