Leave a comment

Tonight I had the pleasure of going to Borders bookstore to hear Stephanie Pearl-McPhee speak in regards to her new book, Things I Learned From Knitting (Whether I Wanted To or Not).

I got there an hour before the event to start and it wasn’t a moment to soon. I pretty much got the last seat available and there were about 100 or so people standing.

If she is coming to a city year you, go make that run and see her. NOT TO MISS!

I managed to knit a lot on the One Row Scarf and am about 1/2 done. I’ve knitted a few more rows on Stripes Galore and will have a progress shot this weekend.

Contest update: First, I want to thank all of you who have so generously donated. I spoke with RFB&D today; they are absolutely tickled and they have asked that all donations be earmarked for the New York Office so that it helps the office that I volunteer in. I thank you again for that.

I received a comment from dakotatwighlight:

dakotatwilight said…
TY for doing this. I would if i could. I too found RFB&D when i started college in 1999, I may not be graduated yet (long story several moves,several changes in major and school)but with RFB&D and my adaptive software I would not be able to maintian a good GPA. I too have a learning disability but am dyslexic and legally blind as well. I doubt i would still be in college without the help TY.

Her comment made this all worth it. I knew that RFB&D helped a lot of people, but I never expected to hear from one and a fellow knitter too.

Secondly, I have a prize update. In addition, to the prizes I listed yesterday, I have added two more. Here is the complete list:

(1) Skein of Wollmeise, courtesy of The Knitting Patch
(1) $25 gift certificate to Wool Girl
(1) $25 gift certificate to Wool Girl
(1) Skein of Wollmeise, courtesy of The Loopy Ewe
(1) Prize to be determined from Knitty City
(1) Skein of Duets Yarn, courtesy of A Swell Yarn Shop
(1) Signed copy of Things I Learned From Knitting (Whether I Wanted To or Not) by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee

Thank you for helping me achieve my goal. I’m hoping to raise $750.00 by the end of this month for RFB&D.

Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting!

Posted April 3, 2008 by theknittingpatch in Contest for RFBD, The Yarn Harlot

Leave a Reply

