Leave a comment

Today was not easy. I’m not a morning person to begin with, and to have the time spring forward an hour didn’t help. I’m feeling pretty tired today and I think my knitting has suffered for it. More later on that.

This afternoon, I spent at the kitchen preparing food. I always have an enjoyable afternoon there and I’m thinking about going more often if time permits.

I stopped on the way at the grocery store to pick up a few things for dinner. Whole wheat pasta and sauce with my special mushrooms.

For the mushrooms, I start by putting some olive oil in a pan on medium heat. I then add about (6) sliced cloves of garlic and let them toast in the oil, because as Emeril says, the oil doesn’t come seasoned. (or maybe, it’s the flour). Once that’s toasted, I add in about (1) pound of sliced mushrooms (any kind will do, even a mixture) and I coat them with the olive oil and garlic. I’m guessing on the next measurements, because I don’t measure. Next comes about 1/3 cup of balsamic vinegar. I mix the mushrooms so that they are coated. My last ingredient is about 1/4 cup of sugar (for me it’s a little more than a handful). I mix it all in, cover it and let it sit on low hit, stirring occasionally. The result is yummy spiced mushrooms that become like candy due to the sugar. I had those on top of whole wheat pasta with some tomato sauce and Parmesan cheese. YUM. (I was so hungry, I forgot to photo it).

That brings me to my knitting for the day. This morning, I started knitting the pocket for Wicked. About 8 rows in, I frogged it. I wasn’t happy with the M1 stitches. After looking on Knitting Help, I found I was incorrectly making the new stitch. I cast on again and starting knitting away. I was on the train going to the kitchen, and I looked at the knitting. &%^&#!!! I messed up a second time, not putting the crossovers where they belonged and frogged once more. I didn’t cast on again, until after dinner. You’d think that third time would be the charm, wouldn’t you? WRONG!! This time, instead of knitting row 7 with the two M1 increases, I forgot them all together. I didn’t realize it until row 11. Back to the frog pond. At this point, I’m thinking that the yarn is cursed. I snipped it and put it out of site. Fourth try, forgot the crossovers. SCREAM!!!! Fifth try, so far, so good. I’m on row 16 of 38 and I’m putting it aside for the night, and knock on wood, it will continue to go well. This pocket seemed to get the better of me tonight and I just glad it’s finally working.

I’m going to go get some much needed sleep. Have a great night everyone and Happy Knitting!

Posted March 10, 2008 by theknittingpatch in GLWD, Recipie, Wicked

Leave a Reply

