Did Someone Say Fire?!?   Leave a comment

So tonight, we decided that we wanted to watch a movie. When we couldn’t find anything on cable, we opted to watch a DVD. We picked out the DVD and I went to put it in the machine.

The movie didn’t want to seem to load, so I powered off the machine and turned it back on. Big mistake. All of a sudden, I saw smoke and heard sizzling. I unplugged the machine and disconnected it as fast as I could before any other damage was done.

We were lucky that there was no major damage. Just a fried DVD player and a melted DVD (at least I think it is, I’m not sure as I can’t open it). It scared me good though.

The only thing I was happy about is that it happened while we were home and that we were able to kill it quickly. I can only imagine what would have happened if we were not at home.

I’ve been doing a lot of knitting as of late. I have completed about 96% of my holiday knitting. I need to finish one scarf and one ball band warsh rag. I also need to knit up some I-Cord to compliment the warsh rags. Hopefully I can get it all done this Thursday night.


I also want to thank my Secret Pal. The lovely JK Penny. She has been absolutely a wonderful spoiler. See:

I hope to someday meet her as we live in the same city. One of these days I’ll get up to the SnB at Yarntopia.

I decided that I want to knit the Seashell Shawl. I’m using Times Remembered Nantucket Heather in Peat on a size 9 needle. I started the cast on Wednesday night. It took me until Friday night to complete the cast on. 630 stitches. It is taking me roughly 1 1/2 hours to complete each row. Once I reach the 15th row, I will do a decrease row that will get me to 315 stitches. From there I calculated that I will decrease 26 stitches every other row until complete so it should go fast from there. Once I get past the first 14 rows and into the decreases, I will post pictures. Until then, there is not much to look at.

I’m also deciding on a sweater to knit. Right now I’m leaning toward the Tilted Duster. Still trying to make up my mind. Hopefully soon.

Anyway, it’s getting to be about midnight here and I should get some sleep as I want to have a full day of knitting in on Sunday an I want to be able to watch the Patriots game in the afternoon.

Until next time, Happy Knitting!!!!

Posted December 16, 2007 by theknittingpatch in Fire, Holiday Knitting, Seashell Shawl

Leave a Reply

