November 19, 2007   Leave a comment

I’ve been bad. I haven’t been posting as much as I would like. I tend to get to caught up in work, play, life. This could be good and bad.

The Good
Last weekend was a whirlwind weekend. My brother and I decided to surprise my mom for her birthday. Around 10:00 AM he picked me up in Brooklyn (coming from Washington DC) and we headed to Massachusetts. On the drive up, I was able to get a little knitting done, but opted for sleep instead as I was fighting off a cold.

About four hours later, we walked in to where my Mom, Dad and daughter where having lunch and I wish I had my camera out to capture the look on Mom’s face. We stunned her silent for about 10 minutes while she held her sandwich and her mouth was just dropped open. It was priceless. She said it was the best present that she ever got.

I did give her the socks I knit for her, but I forgot the camera. I’m going there in a few days, so I’ll be sure to photograph and post after the holiday.

The Bad
Because my brother did not have to work on the Monday, I took a bus back into NYC on Sunday. It was all down hill from there. There was no air on the bus and was really un-breathable for most of the trip home. I made it home by 9:30 that night and into work the next morning. About 1:00PM, I decided that I should not be at the office and asked to go home. How I got home was beyond me.

I got on the train and made it one stop before I had to get off and got sick. I waited a few minutes for the next train and got back on to go home. Four stops later, same thing happened once more and once more, I got on the next train. This time, I made it to my stop. I managed to walk the two blocks home, but again, I don’t know how. I knew my feet were moving, but I felt like I was going in slow motion and the world around me was just spinning. Once home, I called my doctor and he told me what to do and late that night I was feeling better, but stayed home the next day just to be safe. I ended up sleeping most of the next day. I must have caught some very fast acting bug and with my system already down from a slight cold it attacked with a vengeance. It really took until Friday for me to feel 100% and for those few days I did not knit a single stitch (that’s how I knew I was really sick).

More Good
Anyway, rather than go out and risk getting sick again this weekend, I opted to stay in and rest. I was able to catch up on the TiVo and I was able to actually finish up some knitted objects. So without further ado, here are the Chevron Scarf and The Promise Ring Scarf:

The Chevron Scarf

Yarn: (1) Skein each of Socks That Rock medium weight in Lucy and Little Bunny Foo Foo
Pattern: Chevron Scarf by Joelle Hoverson from the book Last Minute Knitted Gifts.
Needles: Knit Picks Options size 5

The Promise Ring Scarf

Yarn: (4) Skeins of Knit Picks Sierra (now Cadena) in the Wild Rose colorway (discontinued)
Pattern: Promise Ring Cables from Stitchionary Volume Two with an added seed stitch border
Needles: Knit Picks Options size 10 1/2

I also reorganized my stash into air tight bins rather than the plastic drawers that they were in. I have to say that I think I have a problem. I filled up to the rim, seven 70 quart bins full of sock yarn, cotton yarn, and all sorts of wool, silk, lace, etc. I could still use a few more of these bins to store the rest of the yarn. I honestly shouldn’t be purchasing any more yarn for a while, though I know I will. Maybe I should go back on to my 12 step program. I just might come January 1, 2008. At least for a little while.

Lot’s of things on the needles, hopefully some more finished objects next time I post. Until then, have a wonderful Thanksgiving and Happy Knitting!

Posted November 19, 2007 by theknittingpatch in Chevron Scarf KAL, Promise Ring, Stash

Leave a Reply

