A Conscience Decision   Leave a comment

I’ve been doing a lot of thinking as of late and I’ve come to a conscience decision. (this will seem to go all over the place, but in the end will make sense)

My health hasn’t been good as of late. Nothing serious or detrimental. My asthma has been bad and my weight just seems to be ballooning. I think the weight comes from stress and that in turn triggers the asthma. I need to alleviate all of it and I can’t do it with medication due to allergies.

Here’s where the story begins.

Friday, due to the steam pipe explosion in NYC, I had the day off as my building had not yet been cleared for re-entry. I spent the afternoon at my LYS and in the park on the Upper West Side with my girlfriend. It was a lovely afternoon.

On the way home, I had grabbed a free brochure/magazine from the news stand to have something to read on the train. Usually, I knit, but I was all knitted out from the afternoon. (insert shocking face here)

I started reading. The brochure was from PETA. The more I read of the brochure, the more upset I got. The more upset I got, the more I knew I had to take action of some sort.

Simply put, the brochure told of the cruelty to animals before they reach our dinner plates. To take from the brochure: On modern-day “factory farms,” animals are forced to spend their entire lives in crates or cages so small that they cannot walk, turn around or even lie down comfortably. Animals who live in extreme confinement suffer from numerous diseases, injuries and psychological disorders. (taken from Farm Sanctuary/www.vegforlife.org)

Just reading that was enough to know that I can not support this practice, but it got worse as I kept reading. It told of how the animals were treated. Chickens have their beaks cut off without anesthesia; pigs have their teeth pulled, again without any anaesthesia or pain killers, cows are burned when they are branded. I could go on and on, but I sense you are getting the idea.

For more, go to www.peta.org, watch the video that Pink has on there and yes, as she says, have a barf bag ready. Because of this video (that I could not watch in it’s entirety as I was getting sick to the point of almost needing that barf bag), I will be more conscience of where and whom I purchase my yarns from. (I’ll use what I already have and just watch in the future).

I have also come to the decision that I will no longer consume meat, chicken and fish. I’ve been doing so since Friday evening and honestly, I feel so much better and my breathing seems to be getting under control. I know it’s not an instant cure, but it’s a start. Truthfully, I was pretty much almost there before reading this only eating meat/chicken and fish maybe 2 to 3 times per month. Reading these brochures just validated the decision to cut them out completely.

I’m not saying that everyone should run out and become a vegetarian. Everyone should make their own choice and this is the choice that is right for me. I’m hoping that by doing this, I become healthier and lose some unwanted weight (yes, I’m adding exercise to this mix).

I know that I’m only one person, one voice making this choice, but, if more and more people began to make this choice, maybe, just maybe it will raise awareness to the cruelty that is happening throughout the world. Maybe standards will be set and the government and other organizations will step in to put a stop to it.

OK, I’m getting off my soapbox and back to the knitting at hand. Thanks for listening to me today.

Posted July 26, 2007 by theknittingpatch in PETA, Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

