Obsession   Leave a comment

I think I have become obsessed with purchasing yarn. The other night, I went a little crazy during the frenzy at The Loopy Ewe. Not that it’s a bad thing, but there were yarns I wanted to try and I wanted to make sure that I got them. My treasure of new yarns are on their way to me.

I was disappointed however, that I wasn’t able to get any Sweet Georgia. Every time I went to check out, there wasn’t enough quantity left. It was quite funny to say the least. Needless to say, I got plenty of treasure, just no Sweet Georgia.

That put me on a quest to have Sweet Georgia in my stash. As you may be aware, Sweet Georgia will be going on sabbatical for about 6 months to a year and I, as well as countless others I’m sure, didn’t want to wait that long to try this delicious yarn that I’ve heard so much about. I searched the web high and low to no avail.

I was about to give up when I received a message in my inbox from a member of the yahoo sock knitters group . Sweet Georgia could be found at Dublin Bay Knitting Company in Oregon. I sent an email off to them and shortly there after, I received a reply. Yes they had Sweet Georgia. Yes they had plenty of stock. Along with that email came a phone number to call and a price list. Within 5 minutes, I called them and placed my order.

Black Orchid, Paris, Honey Fig and Boheme will soon be in my home. 🙂 Incredibly gorgeous colors and I can’t wait to knit up to comfy socks. I also got a lead on some SG Speed Demon in the Slayer colorway and should know about that sometime on Saturday.

With all this yarn coming my way, I went home last night and decided that I should organize my yarn stash. Here’s where I think the obsession comes into play. I have enough yarn in my house right now to open my own store. Well not exactly, but it seems that way. I have two drawers full of sock yarn. Enough for about 30 pairs of socks. I also have enough for about 4 or 5 sweaters. I have so much kitchen cotton that I could knit up many a washrag or dishcloth. (That I will definitely be doing for gifts this year!) I still have yarn in my stash from Rhinebeck almost two years ago.

I have been sticking to the Knit From Your Stash 2007 since January, with the exception of sock yarn. That being said, I don’t see the stash going down; only increasing. That being said, I think I am going to cut myself off from purchasing all together. Nothing. Nada. Zip. (we’ll see how long that will work….)

I’m looking forward to the start of Secret Pal 10 later this month. I can’t wait to be spoiled and to be spoiling a new friend.

In knitting news, I have finished the first Las Vegas Brights Sock (picture below). I’m casting on the second one today. I am about 1/2 done with my Promises Ring scarf and about the same with my Dad’s seed stitch scarf. I continue to chug along with the Log Cabin Blanket (only when I need brainless knitting) and Ariann (when I want to be frustrated!).

Off to lunch and to knit. Have a great day! 🙂

11:44 PM Update: The treasure from The Loopy Ewe (sitting on top of the log cabin still in progress):

Leave a Reply

