Raglan Cardigan   Leave a comment


I had just started to learn to knit over the summer of 2005 and soon became addicted. With the help of friends, I quickly learned different types of casting on and how to knit and purl. I was making scarves and more scarves in no time.

In November of 2005, I signed up for a class at The Yarn Tree. At that time, for me, this would be a difficult project: A Raglan Cardigan. After all, I only knew how to knit and purl. I was determined to do this. I was determined to succeed. The first night of the class I was there until almost midnight and thought I’d never see this day. What on earth did I get myself into!?!

In that class, I basically had to learn to knit all over again. I learned the importance of gauge. I learned how to make new stitches in an already existing row. I learned to knit in the round (for the sleeves). I learned how to use double points (which I loathe). I definitely learned I had to have patience too. I can’t tell you how many times I had to start the sleeves over to get it right.

I didn’t finish the cardigan in the class. It took a little over a year and I can finally say that is true. I finished the cardigan and I couldn’t be happier. I can’t wait to wear it!!!

Things like this make my knitting all worth while 🙂

Posted December 7, 2006 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

