Birthday Yarn Request   Leave a comment

My 39th birthday is coming on Labor Day and I’ve decided I want yarn and lots of it; however, it’s not for me. Please read on.

As some of you may know, I volunteer at two different facilities and we teach the residents how to knit and just socialize. Both facilities are a permanent supportive housing facility for the homeless, people with disabilities and people living with HIV/AIDS. Both the residents and the volunteers are wonderful.

Right now, I think the biggest need is supplies. You know, yarn, needles, etc….

Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

Ok, my point. I’d like to set up a yarn drive and collect as much yarn and supplies for these people as possible. If you are interested in participating, please contact me directly and I will send you an address to send the yarn to. I plan on running the drive through Labor Day and distributing to both facilities in our September meetings.

Having been in the knit blogging community for the past year, I have seen first hand the generosity of knitters around the world so I truly hope that this works.

I thank you in advance and please pass this on to all of our knitting friends

Posted August 8, 2006 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

