Sweater Class – Night 1   Leave a comment

Today was the first night of sweater class. I’m really nervous on this one. I’ve never attempted anything so big.

The first thing we did was decide what yarn to use. I was like a kid in the candy store – so much to choose from and had to whittle it down to one or two at the most. I ultimately chose Frog Tree 100% Alpaca Wool, Sport Weight. I don’t know the exact color names, but I chose two in Wine and a Creamy White. Once I started knitting the swatch, I fell in love with the combination of the two colors. My only dislike right now is the shed factor. I was wearing it all over my black pants by the time I was ready to leave. Hopefully it will eventually stop and continue to look just as gorgeous.

After the swatch was done, we were able to figure out gauge. I was exactly 5 stitches to the inch on a 7″ needle (the swatch is 20 stitches). Based on that and a few measurements, we were able to determine how much of this luscious yarn I would need. A LOT!!! However, that’s only because I had to double the amount needed because I was making with two colors.

Next week we will start the sweater and in the end, I will have a beautiful cardigan sweater. Class ends in January sometime. Just in time to keep me warm in the cold February nights.

Til next time, Happy Knitting 🙂

Posted November 11, 2005 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

