Scarves, Scarves, and More Scarves   Leave a comment

I learned how to knit in the spring. The woman who showed me how to knit showed me how to knit with the right hand holding the cast on stitches and the left hand being the empty needle. In other words, I learned how to knit backwards. It gave me a foundation though.

I decided that if I ever wanted to do anything other than a simple knit stitch (garter), that I needed to learn the correct way of doing things.

Out comes my Stitch n’ Bitch book (Debbie Stoller). I opened the book and just had to read for a bit. I then opened another book, Maran illustrated: Knitting & Crocheting.

What I enjoyed about this book is that the illustrations were real and not drawn and things just started to click. 🙂

I then picked up my needles after deciding I was going to learn by knitting a scarf. (pattern found on page 76-77 in Maran’s book). I already had the yarn picked out, Skacel’s Sizzle (96% Acrylic – 4% Nylon) (2003 collection) which I found on sale at http://www.herrschners.com.

Slowly I got the hang of it, K3, Purl to last 3, K3. Here’s my big but: how do I keep track of where I am? How do I know where I left off? You may think it’s silly, but I created an Excel spreadsheet of the pattern. I then formatted it as a check list and printed it out. From there I was able to keep track of the pattern and where I was. If you’d like the pattern, just email me. I will be happy to send it to you.

Here’s the finished result:

I had a lot of fun knitting this scarf and it’s incredibly soft. I can’t wait to wear it this winter.

The second scarf that I knitted was for my daughter. Before she left for Israel, I took her to the local craft store and let her pick out the yarn for her scarf. She chose Lion Brand Wool Ease Chunky in Deep Rose and Tinsel White. For this I chose the pattern of K2, P2 which made for an easy knit. I changed colors every six inches until I had a 60″ scarf (5 color blocks of each color).

Here is Debbie’s scarf:

I am working on two others, but am not quite done. The patterns on them are very intricate. Both are being knitted in Paton’s Canadiana yarn. One is three boxes wide and in the middle of each box is a heart. This one is the hardest and this is where the Excel spreadsheet really comes in handy. The other is ribs, but in a zig zag pattern, not as difficult but again, the spreadsheet is a life saver. I’ll post pictures of those once they are done if I can get them to photograph well. As you can see in this test, it didn’t do so hot (though you can make out the heart shapes):

Posted October 23, 2005 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

