The Naked Men   3 comments

I was in the city today with my good friend Maddy and we wandered into Madison Square Park.  As we walked in, I saw a statue of a naked man.  I really didn’t think much of it, it’s art.  But then, Maddy pointed them out to me and here’s what I saw:

There are 27 of these in all on top of buildings throughout the Flatiron district of Manhattan.  These are the ones that I happened to see.  On the day of the installation, people thought that these statues were real and that they were people about to jump.  The amount of 911 calls increased and took manpower away from real emergencies.

I’m honestly not sure what I think of it and I can understand why others thought they were real people.  Scary if you ask me.

Posted July 31, 2010 by theknittingpatch in Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Naked Men

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Will definitely look for them when I am next in the area.

  2. You would have thought that someone would put a sign up somewhere letting people know they aren’t real & they don’t have to call 911. That is kinda freaky though.

  3. Oh my. That would be very startling to come upon. I can’t help but scroll up and look at them again. Kind of unsettling.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

